55 Gallon Tank Fish Selection

Status
Not open for further replies.

blaen99

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hi! I'm somewhat new to the hobby, and have been researching starting a new 55gallon aquarium for the past several weeks obsessively. I've narrowed down my list to a somewhat large list, but could use some help narrowing it down with what would work together "Best", as well as other possible selections. I'm going to be running dual 50gal filters, with bi-weekly water changes in a planted tank. aqadvisor.com was a lot of help in narrowing down my choices, as well as this site.

I want at least two schools of different kinds of cories, and I just plain think a school of Oto's and at least one school of shrimp are freakin' cool. I want some guppies for sentimental reasons, and I'd like to somehow work in the Indian Glassfish at a (much later) date if possible as well - when I've had more experience with maintaining a low bioload tank, specifically. Plan on doing a TSS cycle w/guppies or white clouds, and introducing fish past that very slowly (On average, a few fish a week at most).

Fancy Guppy (Poecilia reticulata)
Ghost Shrimp (Palaemonetes sp.)
White Cloud Mountain Minnow (Tanichthys albonubes)
Indian Glassfish (Parambassis ranga)
Neon Tetra (Paracheirodon innesi)
Panda Cory (Corydoras panda)
Sterbai Cory (Corydoras sterbai)
....Other cories...
Siamese Algae Eater (Crossocheilus siamensis)
Swordtail (Xiphophorus hellerii)
Red Cherry Shrimp
Amano Shrimp
Rubbernose/Rubberlip Pleco (Chaetostoma sp. aff. Milesi L187a)
Nerite Snail (Nerita sp.)
Oto (Otocinclus vittatus)

Eliminated:
Honey Gourami (Trichogaster chuna)
Dwarf Gourami (Colisa lalia)

Note: I don't want all of these, by no means do I want all of them >< These are just my final list, I'm trying to get some critique/finetuning on it to narrow it down further.

Last edited:

midthought

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hi there, welcome to Fishlore.