Fish laying on bottom of tank

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by gwtechie72, Jul 25, 2015.

1. g

gwtechie72 New Member Member

I am new to owning a fish tank. I originally had a 10 gallon tank, and had an interest in having a variety of fish. I upgraded to a 30 gallon tank. I have 2 black molly's, 1 Dalmatian molly, 3 Zebra Dano's. 2 gold dust molly's, 2 Cory Dora's, 3 red wag plats, and 1 loach (eel looking). I noticed some of the fish lay on the bottom of the tank. The tank temp is within the green section on the thermometer. I have 2 filters running at all times. Can someone help me out here and give me and idea as to what is happening.?

2. AquaticBrandon

AquaticBrandon Well Known Member Member

Welcome to Fishlore! :)
    Looks like you're on your way to MTS (Multiple Tank Syndrome) lol. Anyways, on your profile it says that you're not familiar with the Nitrogen Cycle. Here is a link that will explain the Nitrogen Cycle briefly https://www.fishlore.com/NitrogenCycle.htm
    Do you know what your water parameters are? You said that you upgraded to a 30 gallon tank, before adding anything the tank should be cycled. There might be some ammonia in the tank and that might be the cause of the fish staying at the bottom. I would recommend doing frequent water changes to bring the ammonia down ( if there is any). Also, I would recommend picking up a great water conditioner called Prime. Prime detoxifies ammonia, nitrite and nitrates for 24 hours. Another piece of equipment I would recommend picking up if you haven't already is an API master test kit. This test kit will help you check your water parameters such as Ammonia, Nitrites, Nitrates and pH. Very helpful and saves time and money. :)

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

3. OP
    OP
    g