Fish In Filter Housing

1. Robert Fletcher

Robert Fletcher Member Member

I have a 110 litre (30 USG) tank with an internal Juwel filter. All came as a package. The tank as just 4 danios as I am cycling it. They have been there for just over 3 days. The tank is testing as stable so more fish planned in a day or two. Now here’s the problem.
    This morning only 3 danios could be found. I found the other in the filter housing. He could not have got through the intake grill he is too big for that. Look at the photo there is a leaf against the grill it can’t get through. My only other thought is could he have jumped.
    On the ‘Net there have been others with fry getting in but my danio is bigger than that.
    The only thing I can think of is to put floss to the top of the filter housing. Personally I don’t like this filter but I have to live with it at least for the moment.
    Can anyone help? IMG_20170720_084338.jpg

2. elizano1

elizano1 Initiate Member

Hi I'm a novice fish keeper but my danio jumped too

Oh I have a fluval edge and I bluetacked a cut out piece of plastic over top to stop future jumpers. Maybe you could try that?

3. grantm91

grantm91 Fishlore VIP Member

Yes, im with elizano 99fd776f9edbc5a6f56b6766d915f896.jpg i used a food container from the take away to cover a hole where my occelaris clown jumped out, i saved her this was a while ago.

4. NavigatorBlack

NavigatorBlack Fishlore VIP Member

I saw the heading and thought "that person has Danios". And Danios always find a way into filters.
    He had 2 places to go - into the housing or to flip himself onto the floor. Zebra danios come from very fast water, and the temptation to run up a stream is always there for them. They love very powerful filter flows, which they mistake for swimming uphill. I have seen them swimming in and out of big HOB filters with absolute joy.

Give them a good current, and they put their noses into it and charge. Hey, the torpedo body with racing stripes...