Fish ich?

chikinbiskit

We started a new tank about two weeks ago and got some mollies and platys. Yesterday I noticed this platy (female?) has white spots on her. Her fins are also very small. She has also been hiding in a cave for the last day or so but is still eating. I’m a beginner so I am having a hard time identifying what’s wrong. I snapped these pics when she came out for a moment.

is this ich or something else?59D1DD92-2DB6-463F-962C-F55B3E632AE3.jpeg6774873C-A6A8-40CF-8457-BD50A97DCCA8.jpeg

Best Answer - View Gone's answer

BluMan1914

Well Known
If its Ich your tank has been exposed, and the other fish may have it. Right now it's best to treat the whole tank and not take the Molly out.
I suggest that you look into the heat method to treat it.
I also suggest that you get more opinions on what the disease could be before doing anything.

PenguinTetra38

That definitely looks like ich. She has clamped fins which means she is stressed out. Please fill out this emergency template to give us more info on your situation. You should treat with an ich medication and quarantine her is you can.

richiep

Fishlore VIP
if its ich youll need to treat the whole tank, one on its own getting it after a after a week is very unlikely its already in the tank

erinw347

Well Known
Ich is very contagious so treat the whole tank. You can use heat treatment or a medication.

OP
chikinbiskit

chikinbiskit

chikinbiskit said:
We started a new tank about two weeks ago and got some mollies and platys. Yesterday I noticed this platy (female?) has white spots on her. Her fins are also very small. She has also been hiding in a cave for the last day or so but is still eating. I’m a beginner so I am having a hard time identifying what’s wrong. I snapped these pics when she came out for a moment.

is this ich or something else?59D1DD92-2DB6-463F-962C-F55B3E632AE3.jpeg6774873C-A6A8-40CF-8457-BD50A97DCCA8.jpeg