Fish fry!!!! Omg

Mizzcharmz

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
So this morning I checked on my baby's. All was well, come back later and I see that my baby's HAD A BABY. So I whip out my breeder tank and catch that one fry. After I get that one settled I find one more. I'm sad to say that I probably had more but the other fish got to them. I have a few questions involving care for these guys, This is my first time dealing with this.... When do I feed them? How often? What do you recommend, I have heard I can crush up fish flake into a powder but What other options? What kind of fish do you think they are (I have pics posted below, I say dalmation molly but Idk if it's either black molly, dalmation or micky mouse platy) I am pretty sure I have another preggo fish, if I move these babies into their own tank soon,and then I have another batch, will the new batch be safe with these guys at say 3 or 4 weeks old? Any advice would be lovely, thanks y'all!

Attachments

GuppyDazzle

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Congratulations!

Pulverized flake food is fine for livebearer fry food. The very best food you could feed would be live baby brine shrimp, but that takes some fiddling around to get a hatchery going. Frozen baby brine shrimp would also be good, if you don't mind keep fish food in your freezer. Probably the most important thing in feeding fry is feeding small amounts several times per day.

I'd also try to get them out of the breeder box as soon as possible. The fish probably have to grow for three or four months before they're a threat to any new fry.

If you plan on continuing breeding livebearers, you're gonna need more tanks. Petco and Petsmart have $1 a gallon sales that will be an economical means of building your new fish room!

OP
Mizzcharmz

Mizzcharmz

Reaction score
Experience
Just started