Fish Flakes - Do They Spoil, Go Bad ?

Bob_STL
I acquired a 4 inch can of Omega Fish Flakes (opened), which are likely 2-3 years old. Can I still use these ? I'm trying to keep my Hobby Budget inline. Thank you.

goldface
Toss it out. Flakes should be used within 6 months, after opening. Luckily, fish foods are relatively cheap.

ystrout
I wouldn't use it if it's a couple years old.

Just buy the .42oz can of flakes and it's like $3-4.

Bob_STL
Thanks guys - I'm a newbie, and I'm soo glad I found this awesome forum.
I anticipated the answer would be " toss it out " - but food & chemical / additives are so expensive.
BUT - it's best Not to be "Penny wise, Pound foolish" !! Thank you.

kmbeck
They are most likely not harmful to your fish, but the nutritional value degrades over time.

adh/smile
I have a little bottle of Betta Min fish flakes that I think is 4 years old and I still use it. I haven't notices anything bad about using the old food. They may be a little stale compared to what they used to be, but their color hasn't faded and my fish love them.

wodesorel
It will loose a lot of vitamins and minerals over time. I have always gone by the 6 month guideline as well.

What I do to save money is freeze the main bottle and then decant a small amount that'll last a few months to a separate jar to keep at the tank. Once frozen it'll last for years!

Cichlidude
I bought some Clichlid flakes 2 years ago and the bottom of the can says they expire in 10/2020. I figure it can go longer than that.

wodesorel