Fish Dying within 15 minutes

ro1kman

Reaction score
Hi,

I recently have purchased a 10 gallon tank and I am a beginner. I went through the instructions of cleaning the tank, filtering it and adding the heater. After about 45 min after I completed setting up the tank (added the appropriate dechorlipher) I added 3 Zebra Danio's ( sp?). The PH tested at around 6.5, I do not have a nitrate, ammonia tester...after 5 min All 3 fish started acting a bit crazy and swam to the top of the tank almost like they were gasping for air, the turned upside down and about 10 min later, were dead. Do you have any advice as to why this is happening, since I did follow the directions??? Did I add fish to early?? Did I miss a water chemical to add?? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Gunnie

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Welcome to FishLore! It's great to have you with us! It's very possible that the ph level in the tank the fish came from, and the ph level of the water in your tank were drastically different, and the fish couldn't handle it. When acclimating fish to your tank, float the bag for 15 minutes so the water in the bag will adjust to the temperature of the tank water. Then about every 15 minutes after that, add about a tablespoon of tank water into the bag, and do this for an hour or 2. This will allow your fish to slowly adjust to any ph changes without putting them into shock. Before buying any more fish, please read the sticky in this forum called "FishLore Articles for Beginners". You need to fully understand the cycling process to keep your fish alive and healthy. You may want to consider doing a fishless cycle before buying any more new fish. We're glad you're here, and hope you will keep us posted on your progress with your new tank!

ro1kman

Reaction score