Fish Dying--Need Help Please!!!

ewiz06

Reaction score
I have a 46 gal. freshwater tank. I have been making weekly to bi-weekly changes of 25-35% for the past 8 months. Everything was going fine, especially after my algae bloom cleared up 6 months ago. Anyway, we added a water purification system to our house in August. The system does cycle the water through some salt before going through the filtration process. The water does not taste or feel salty at all. However, I've noticed that sometimes after I do a water change one of my fish will die in a few days (I have 1 small angel, 2 large danios, 2 German rams, 2 cherry barb tetras, 1 small pleco and 1 cory cat.

I'm not sure if the demise of some of my fish is caused by my new water system or not. I'm just looking for some answers here. I have a Penguin filter that is for aquariums up to 60 gal. I do have space available to add another small filter. Would this help?

Any suggestions or ideas would be appreciated.

Tom

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
In my parents house. Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Experience
More than 10 years
I know I have a water purifier and different people said not to use the water purifier because you lose some helpful things for the fish and plants, so I just use plain tap water and add the necessary chemicals to clean it up enoug for the fish to survive.
Tom

OP
E

ewiz06

Reaction score
Tomh said:
I know I have a water purifier and different people said not to use the water purifier because you lose some helpful things for the fish and plants, so I just use plain tap water and add the necessary chemicals to clean it up  enoug for the fish to survive.
Tom
Thanks Tom. I guess the issue isn't the possible salt being added from the purifier, as I don't think much is there. Unfortunately the system is hooked up to all of my water outlets. Any other ideas on what I could do here? Do I need to add any type of chemicals?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!!

BristolBulldog

Reaction score