Fish dont move much

Cajun56

Im new to the whole pond thing. I have 2 tanks in my house but this is my 1st pond. My fish barley move and they stay at the bottom under the plants or by the filter box. I do water tests weekly and everything comes back good except today my ph was 8.8. I use the api freshwater test kit. Any thought or opinions would be appreciated
20200607_113458.jpg

elisa001

What kinds of fish are they and how long have you had them? If your fish have been like this for a while it’s likely due to water quality. Wouldn’t worry about your PH too much it seems ok have you tested for ammonia, nitrates, and nitrites? Is your pond cycled?

I notice most of my fish are skittish when I first get them and stay hiding under plants until they learn to associate me with food.

Upvote 0

Shannon529

Have you tested the water temp and is it the correct one for the type of fish? Are there plants under the water as well? They could be just sticking to where the shade is. More plants might make them a bit more active. Also, do you know if there have been any predators lurking around? They might be hiding from birds, raccoons, etc.

Upvote 0

Cajun56

I havent tested the temp but it doesnt seem to get too hot. And i do have birds around the house bot loke hwks are anything just regular birds. Its 2 fantail goldfish and 1 comet goldfish

Upvote 0

Shannon529

Sorry I have no other advice. Any change in their moving?

Upvote 0

hoseki

These days are so hot. Looks like you need an aeration pump to keep up the oxygen level in the pond especially in the afternoon. When oxygen level is low. Fish will hide and not moving that much.

Upvote 0

hoseki

It may help your green soup as well.

Upvote 0

KribensisLover1

I have kribs and the smaller ones sit completely still in the plants. I thought they were not doing well for a while until I realized they were hiding from larger ones. I have worked on this yet it still happens a lot and they are completely healthy!!

Upvote 0