Fish Diagnosis? opening their mouths constantly

1. grelsner96 Initiate Member

So, I am pretty new at this still. I've had my fish for almost a year but got more enthusiastic the last couple months. Here is what they are doing. I can not tell why they are swimming around and opening their mouths. They don't necessarily do it at the surface of the water, so I can't tell if they are trying to get oxygen or food. I did a 2/10 gallon water change yesterday, so that's 20% of the water. My filter seems fine. I tested and my nintrite, nitrate, and pH are all correct. I don;t have an ammonia tester. Does anyone know what could be causing that? When I feed them, they don;t even go after the food. It's been going on about 2 days or 3 tops. Before this, I had nitrite,nitrate and ammonia were all incorrect. the fish were like barely moving, like sleeping all the time, I thought they weren't too far from dying. But, that was fixed and they recovered for a few days until now this....

[video]http://s586.photobucket.com/user/grelsner/media/DSCN2304_zps7a5dc19d.mp4.html[/video]

[​IMG]

2. FiscCyning Member Member

Welcome to Fishlore! I'm sorry your fish are having problems but we will do our best to help.

Your profile indicates that you don't yet know about the nitrogen cycle so I would strongly recommend reading up on that (you can click the blue link in this post). If you don't have an ammonia test in your kit you can bring a water sample to most fish stores and they will test it for you.

If you give us a little more information that can also help us figure out what is going on. How big is the tank? How many fish are in it and what kinds are they? How often do you usually do water changes? When you say your ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate levels were incorrect before, can you give us actual parameters?

edit: I just realized that was a video, not a picture :rolleyes: