Help Fish Deaths

ALittleGoose

Reaction score
Experience
2 years
So i'm new to community fish. I had a betta for about 2 years without issue and after he passed i decided to do a community tank. Intially, me and my roommate got 5 neon tetras, 3 guppies, a glass catfish, an algae eater, and a blue lobster (big mistake) for our old 10 gallon tank we had. after several issues with the lobster being very hungry and killing all the fish except a tetra and the glass catfish we got a 45 gallon tank kept the lobster in the 10 alone and moved the remaining fish to the 45. We got new fish (3 guppies, 5 zebra danios, an orange swordtail, and 5 neon tetras); however they all (except 1 zebra and some tetras, and the previous catfish) died. We don't know how they died. After that we got a live plant, gave up on keeping a variety and went solely on keeping a bunch of neon tetras and giving the catfish that had to go through all of this some friends. As of right now we have 3 glass catfish, an oto, a zebra, and about 25 tetras. The tetras though have been dying at a consistent rate of about one a day. The tank parameters were fine before the plant, but the plant made a ton of ammonia (we are putting some ammonia down stuff in the tank and cleaned out the bottom of any left over food. We also did about a 20% water change. The pH was also a little high so we put some pH down in. Any suggestions on why my tetras keep dying? Also any general advice is greatly appreciated. Sorry for the long post and thank you in advance!

Attachments

Best Answer - View FishGirl38's answer

Crimson_687

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
How long have the tetras been in the new tank and how did you acclimate them? Were they healthy when you got them and are they eating?