Fish choice for 10 gallon!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Djatwood16

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Hey everyone!

Im a first time user so i could really use some good help and advice!

I have been keeping a 3 gallon tank for about 6 months. And i have recently decided to upgrade to a 10 gallon tank.

As of right now, I have in my 10 gallon:

-1 pair of german blue rams
-1 Killifish
- 6 Neon tetras
- 3 Serpae tetras

The store owner told me the serpaes would be a great addition to my tank. However, they have harassed my neons quite frequently and all have what appear to be nipped fins (including a couple passing). Unless anyone has any suggestions, it is clear to me that this combination will not work? My next thought is to take the serpaes out, and perhaps replace the passed neons and add a pair of guppies, glo-lites, and or a single gourami perhaps? I would like a single neat larger fish as a centerpiece (my killifish is tiny and neither gbr is over 1.5"), such as a dwarf gourami (have heard these can be aggressive) but realize with a semi-small tank size of ten gallons my options are limited.

As of now I am thinking,

-1 pair of GBR
-1 killifish
-5-6 neons
-1 Pair of guppies
-2 Glolites

any suggestions?

I realize some might say this is too many for the load of the tank, but i do have a really nice filter.

Thanks for the help everyone!

TylerLovesFish

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
Even with a good filter, to be honest, (from hearing from others, and experience with my dad) That would be overstocked. I suggest going away with the glo lights (I really don't suggest them to anyone, as they are genetically altered, meaning they also have to use a very small gene pool, in short, they are very inbred from what I hear) and the guppies, mostly because if you get a male and a female, you could possibly get babies.

jdhef

Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Welcome to FishLore!