Fish Are Dying And I'm At My Wit's End. Help Please!

Jessiegrace

Reaction score
Okay, I came into this as a complete beginner last year and I've struggled for the past month and a half.

Here's what I have:

55 gallon tank with sand substrate. The sand is playbox sand, but I rinsed it until it was clear when I put it in. No chemicals added. Just straight sand.

About 20 plastic plants in several different sizes.

A piece of wood for my plecos.

Several sea shells that have been used in my 10 gallon tank before that never caused problems, two little caves I made out of sculpy after doing research and finding that it should be safe, and a couple terracotta flower pots, one with fish gravel in it to hold some plants.

I have a bubbler recommended for up to 65 gallons, and a Tetra whisper ex 70 filter. Both had 50 on the low end of their recommendations, but the others only went up to 45. I got this tank from my father, and he didn't have a hood. So for light I've put a desk lamp over it with a leftover grow light from my overwintering succulents. The tank is in my basement, so the fish wouldn't be getting any light from the sun. I turn the light off at night before I go to bed (about 11 pm) and on when I get up (about 8 am). There is also a heater, and I try to keep the water temp. at the 78-80 mark. There were a few cold nights where it got down to 75, but I've learned to gauge where to set it so this doesn't happen any more.

Nitrate between 0 and 20 ppm

Nitrites are 0

Total hardness (gh) between 75 and 150 ppm

Alkalinity (kh) 80 ppm

ph 7.2

These were measured with a dip stick so I know they're meant to be taken with a grain of salt.

Ammonia has been measure with a liquid test kit (the kind where you add the two kinds of drops) and is between 0 and .25 ppm.

My current survivors are a regular pleco, an albino pleco, a glass catfish, a female betta, two upside down catfish, and an albino cory. Also, about 15 ghost shrimp.