Fish and Shrimp

Discussion in 'Freshwater Invertebrates' started by Mark7A, Dec 19, 2012.

1. M

Mark7A Valued Member Member

Hello,

I'm a noob fishkeeper. Actually, pre-noob as my fish tank (56 gallon pillar) is currently cycling and I have no fish just yet.

I posted elsewhere here on fishlore to get comments on a various fish communities. Learning a great deal. My latest idea is a pretty laid back tank with peaceful fish living in harmony (think Bob Marley with gills). Additionally, I had visions of happy fish swimming and playing as little shrimp and snails scamper across the tank structure (should bring back visions of sea-monkeys). As I think I am learning, shrimp and larger fish such as mollies or platys don't get along.

Bummer, as I am losing my sea-monkey vision.

Is my assumption correct that I should probably stay away from a tank mix that includes these types of fish with shrimp? Are snails safe at least?

I have a 4 gallon bio-orb. Would that be a suitable place to have shrimp and a snail or two (and perhaps a dwarf frog)? I think I have a bit of MTS and my tank is only in week two of the cycle...

Let me know your thoughts.

2. Y

Yeoy Well Known Member Member

Hi and welcome!

Unfortunately, most common shrimp can fall prey to hungry fish. There are larger species of shrimp that may survive mollies/platies, but it is always a risk. Snails are generally quite safe.

A 4gal is perfect for shrimp and snails. I have RCS (Red Cherry Shrimp) and Ramshorn Snails thriving in my 5gal planted tank. I will let someone else comment on the ADF.

If you have MTS, you are definitely in the right place.

3. Tonia

Tonia Well Known Member Member

Good to meet you, Mark!!

I personally like having MTS in my tanks.. they help keep the substrate aerated and stop gas pockets from forming.. and they help keep down any plant debris, thus keeping everyone healthier. Also, some other snails can be kept with your mollies and platies if that's what you wish to keep.