First Try at Aquascaping

Hunterman11

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I recently got a 10 gallon aquarium with an 18'' floramax bulb so I decided to make a planted aquarium.
I just wanted to know how it looks and maybe some tips or plant suggestions. The plants in the front are dwarf hairgrass, in the back is wisteria, and on the wood is anubia.

Thank you.

alink

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Im not an expert, but I can tell you that both Wisteria and DHG will do better with CO2. You can either get a CO2 (pre-made or DIY), or use Seachem Excel (liquid CO2).

Both will also do better with root tabs as TexasDomer said.

I notice you dont have a heater in the tank. What temp does it get too? Warmer water (76-82) will encourage better growth as well.

TexasDomer

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Im not an expert, but I can tell you that both Wisteria and DHG will do better with CO2. You can either get a CO2 (pre-made or DIY), or use Seachem Excel (liquid CO2).

Both will also do better with root tabs as TexasDomer said.

I notice you dont have a heater in the tank. What temp does it get too? Warmer water (76-82) will encourage better growth as well.
If it's water wisteria (Hygrophila difformis), it'll grow fine without CO2. Doesn't look like that kind though. What kind is it? Another species of Hygrophila?

Hunterman11

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I live in Florida and it's still 86 out so the water is about 77, but I do have an Eheim heater, I just haven't installed it.
I would love to get some galaxy rasboras, or at least that's what I think there called, but the tank isn't quite cycled, and maybe some Khuli loaches.

alink

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year

Hunterman11

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started