Help First Time With Ich, How Would You Treat This Tank (shrimp, Moss Balls)?

Kat11

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I woke up this morning and observed a few white dots on a couple of my wild green neons' fins. These were not there last night! I'm assuming ich.

It's my first time with ich! I have a 10g fully cycled moderately planted tank with:

3 male endlers
1 small honey gourami
5 green neons
6? Red cherry shrimp
Moss balls
Crypts/swords/anubias/bacopa/cyperus grass

Parameters this morning were:
77°F
pH: 7.8
Ammonia= 0 (my api test always looks slightly green 0.25 but was told this is common?)
Nitrite =0
Nitrate=10-20 (I can never tell difference)
KH= 4°
GH= 9°

I know neons like lower pH but my tap is 1° KH which I thought was too low so I added a small piece of cuttlebone to my filter and KH and GH shot up. My pH went up too, surprise, surprise. Did the stress of rising pH cause my neons to contract ich?

Anyhow ... I have inverts so meds can hurt them and I have moss balls so high temps can hurt them and I have plants so salt can hurt them ... what would you do to treat?

nikm128

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
Find something to put the shrimp and moss balls in for a few days, raise the temp to 86. That's all you need to do

Kat11

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Find something to put the shrimp and moss balls in for a few days, raise the temp to 86. That's all you need to do
Thanks. Can the shrimp and moss balls carry ick? So can I reinfect the tank by putting them back in?

nikm128

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
I'm not sure, just give the moss balls a good rinse. Shrimp can't be infected by ich, but they can still carry it. Keep them separate for a few weeks (This is what I meant to say, not a few days) at the warmest safe temperature and you should be all clear.