55 Gallon Tank First Time Stocking 50+

Kristian Kyles

Reaction score
Hey! I've been trying to decide on a stocking list for my 55 gallon tank I've picked up started cycling. It's going to be heavily planted with mostly live (a few fake) plants and have a couple driftwood pieces. It's my first time stocking a community tank this size so I wanted to get second opinions on my current idea

Stocking List
2 angelfish
9 fancy guppies
8 gold skirt tetras
6 corys

Please let me know if this is over/under stocked or if any of these fish will have issues with aggression

nikm128

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
2 angelfish will cause problems, especially if they're both males, that's why I always recommend keeping them in odd numbers.
I think you could up the cory school to 10 easily.

Kristian Kyles

Reaction score
2 angelfish will cause problems, especially if they're both males, that's why I always recommend keeping them in odd numbers.
I think you could up the cory school to 10 easily.
If I add another angelfish to make it three would it still be okay to up the number of corys?

bizaliz3

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
If I add another angelfish to make it three would it still be okay to up the number of corys?
Three is a terrible number for Angels. I would stick with one or two if you are going for a community tank.

Also, Keeping them in odd numbers doesnt really make a difference. I've never heard of that before.

nikm128

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
Three is a terrible number for Angels. I would stick with one or two if you are going for a community tank.

Also, Keeping them in odd numbers doesnt really make a difference. I've never heard of that before.
Why is three a bad number?
It's always helped for me

bizaliz3

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Why is three a bad number?
It's always helped for me