First Time Pond Owner Looking For Suggestions

callmebeeplease

Hello Fishlorians, hope you're all well

I have been given a 1mx1mx70cm free-standing pond. Currently it has water in it and a solar-powered pump and filter combo... and that's it!

As a complete novice to pond-keeping, I'd really appreciate any advice/suggestions around:
- cycling the water (does it differ from an indoor aquarium?)
- Suitable size plants that are low maintenance/good for beginners
- How on earth to add/plant said plants?
- Suitable fish for this size outdoor pond

It's a blank slate at the moment and I have no pre-conceived ideas of what I want it to look like or contain, so all suggestions welcome and appreciated! We can call it the Fishlorian Community Pond as the whole community here will have helped me create it!

Thanks in advance!

Bee

Donovan Jones

I see you're in the UK, so I'm not sure what plants are legal, but for submerged plants I recommend hornwort, cabomba, and elodea. These should survive winter. I would just plant them like you would in a tank or just throw the bundle in with weights. For floating plants, Lily pads are great, but you'll want them in a pot with organic soul and lots of root tabs capped with gravel. You could also add some water lettuce and hyacinth, but they don't come back every year. Another plant you could use is jungle Val and dwarf sag. I heard both survive winter. For marginal plants, I recommend Arrowhead and parroots feather. You can pot them in dirt with gravel, and the Arrowheads come back every year. However, you'll have to put the pot on something to have it at the right depth, which the plant tag should tell you.
Filtration IMO, depends on what you put in fish wise. With goldfish, you can't have too much, and they will breed.
Since it's a solar powered pump, if it doesn't charge a battery, it's off at night, so I'd steer clear of dirtier fish for lack of better wording, unless you understock by a lot, as in less than 5 goldfish.