First time planted tank!

CJLand

Hello, ive been keeping aquariums for probably around 8 years now, but have never done a planted tank and ive been wanting to for quite a while. Im gonna try it out on a 29 gallon tank because it isnt too large or too small. The tank isnt up and running yet, and i do not have a light. Ill be able to start the tank up in a few weeks and cycle it etc. Im just gonna have gravel, i know its an inert substrate but i really just plan on a very basic low light setup. Ive been researching plants and having a planted tank for well over a year and i have a pretty good idea of what to do. Im just wondering what the best light would be for a 29 gallon tank. The dimensions are 30 x 12 inches, the height is around 18 inches i believe. I dont think ill need something extremely bright, something designed for low lighted plants of course but nothing crazy. I won't have any kind of c02 system. I will dose the tank with nutrients when needed. Something thats a little bit confusing still is just finding the balance with it all. Knowing if its getting enough nutrients for the amount of light etc. I assume there will be enough c02 from the fish and tank in general to sustain plants. Since i have no experience its kind of live and learn. Any recommendations for finding that balance? And what lights do you recommend for that sized tank? Also, im getting a 75 gallon soon and i would like to plant that tank in the future. Id prefer to get experience first with something smaller. But any recommendations for good lights for a 75 gallon? It'll probably be the same low light setup. Thanks for any help!

Convoluted77

I havnt tried many lights but I do like my fennix stingray2 on my 29.I have mostly lower light plants.(java fern,java moss,anubias,red tiger lotus and lots of water sprites both planted and floating).I feel like it does it great job with my perticular plants.

Upvote 0

Nomofish