First Time in the Salt Water Hobby

SinfulArcher

Reaction score
IMG_3667.jpg
Hello,
This is my first post on this forum and I'm looking for a little advice on salt water fish. I have two freshwater tanks one ten and one twenty five and have had both for little under a year, and before them had goldfish for around ten years. So I would say i'm a little past the beginner point in the hobby and had plans yesterday to buy a 45 gallon ensemble aquarium (furniture, tank, and hood) for a live freshwater aquascape. But while at my local fish store which stocks well over 80% with salt water fish and coral I asked them if my tank would be to small and they said no. I've heard that salt water isn't to hard to keep and have done research on it in the past because I was just going to go strait to salt water with my two previous tanks, so I decided to go with a salt water tanks. I spent the next one to two hours in there getting the run down and all of that, came home and set up my tank.
  • I have a 45 gallon tank 37 in x 13 in x 59 in
    • (taller than it is long)
  • Fluval 307 canister filter
  • Hydra 26 light
    • for growing and maintaining coral
  • Cobalt submersable 200w heater
  • live rock
  • carbi sea substrate
    • local fish store recommended it
  • Nutri sea water to start up the tank
  • ammonia sulfate
  • aqua top max flow
So i have the whole thing set up, you can look at the pictures below, I won't be stocking the tank until the water quality has reached safe and stable levels for my fish.
I kinda want some ideas of what I should stock in my tank or if I should add anything else
  • Looking for:
    • Colorful Hardy coral
    • decent sized fish
    • invertebrates
    • small fish
    • schooling
    • solo
    • aggressive
    • semi aggressive
    • passive
Obviously nothing is gonna fit all of those categories, but if I had to stock my tank today, what sort of coral should I go with, and what would be the best fish match up for that