First time betta owner!

1. NESQUIK Initiate Member

Hello! Currently I own a 5 gallon single-planted and heated TopFin aquarium with a male red-and-white half moon betta; this is my first time owning a betta! I've done plenty of research into betta care and tank setup, and I only have a few questions that I couldn't find the answers for. My little betta (named Apollo) is active and is eating, but hasn't begun to build bubble nests, and he likes to swim towards the very bottom of the tank. I always read that male bettas would build bubble nests over periods of time and swim near the surface; could something be wrong? I'm absolutely in love with little Apollo, and it would be devastating to lose him so soon. The aquarium's nitrite, nitrate, and ammonia levels are at 0 ppm, and the pH is at 7.2. I only feed him small betta pellets from Tetra; I plan to give him weekly bloodworm treats. Have I been doing anything wrong?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Flowingfins Fishlore VIP Member

Welcome to the forum:)
    https://www.fishlore.com/fishforum/betta-fish/226842-betta-care-sheet.html
    Here's a betta care sheet I wrote up:)
    Your tank is not cycled, you should have 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite, and 20 nitrate, there's a link in the link above that explains it.
    Some bettas won't build bubble nest's, some will. The fact that your tank isn't cycled could be playing a part in that.
    I would add more decorations for him to rest on, halfmoons have heavy fins that can easily tire them.
    What temperature is his tank?

3. NESQUIK Initiate Member

His temperature stays around 78-80 degrees Fahrenheit, where I live it's usually hot. I had been planning to cycle the tank, but restrictions placed by my parents (no hard feelings!) made me be unable to. What sorts of decorations would Apollo prefer?

4. FallenOwl Well Known Member Member

Taller plants, and decor seems to make mine happy

5. NESQUIK Initiate Member