First Semi-Aggressive Tank. Stocking Suggestions?

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by TVAL, Nov 30, 2012.

1. TVAL

TVAL New Member Member

Hi!
    I have been stalking fishlore for a couple of months now, and I finally decided to join!

I am currently in the process of cycling my 25 gallon tank.
    20121129_235728.jpg
    I am trying to plan what fish I want, and I can't even come close to deciding...
    Any suggestions on a few to start with, and which ones I can add a little later so the bioload doesn't get all crazy on me?
    I want a black ghost knife fish, but I'm pretty sure that it would get too big for this tank. :(
    I'm open to anything and I would love to see pictures of your fishies too!

2. Eienna

Eienna Fishlore VIP Member

FAR too big, you are correct.
    25 doesn't seem to be a common size. Are you sure?

3. OP
    OP
    TVAL

TVAL New Member Member

Yeah! I know it is an off size. It is a 25 high tank. It was the only one that size in the store. All inclusive starter kit that is made by Aqueon. It was that or a wider 30 gallon and this one fits much better in my apartment.

4. Aquarist

Aquarist Fishlore Legend Member

Good morning and SantaWelcome.gif to Fish Lore!

I hope you enjoy the site!

Ken

5. OP
    OP
    TVAL

TVAL New Member Member

It's this tank!
    Don't worry, I don't buy fish from them.
    Except my female betta. I had to save her. She was so sad in her cup. :( She's much happier now in my community tank.

6. Eienna

You noted semi-aggressve in the title, but generally I'd put such fish in a bigger Long tank, to give them more room to move away or establish their 'space.' Are you opposed to a peaceful set-up?

7. OP
    OP
    TVAL

TVAL New Member Member

I'm not opposed to it, but I did have my heart set on a semi-aggressive. Im basically looking for a few bigger fish with some complimentary fish that will get along with them. It doesn't have to be packed with fishies.

8. Eienna