First Saltwater Tank on a Budget

natureandwildlife

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I have 2 Freshwater tanks right now and I'm wanting to switch my 10 gallon to a saltwater tank. I'm mostly interested in having beautiful corals. I would like to add some fish down the road but I'm not concerned about that right now. Seeing as I just set up a terrarium for my new bearded dragon, I really don't want to spend a fortune on this little tank. However, I don't want my tank to fail either. I would appreciate if you all could tell me what I need and what corals I could get. I have little knowledge of Saltwater tanks so details would be appreciated. I would love if you could give me links to some cheaper products. I definitely don't want to spend a fortune on a light. I would love to keep different types of corals with different shapes, colors, and textures. I would love to keep an anemone too. I already have the 10 gallon tank, a lid with a light what will likely not be suitable, a heater, and a filter that is not fantastic. I could get another filter or add a sponge filter in addition to what I already have. Also, is a lid a necessity on a Saltwater tank? Are there things that I need to add to the water? Thank you so much! I know that my many questions are probably overwhelming.

saltwater60

Well Known Member
Reaction score
A 10 gallon tank is very small for a reef tank so the stocking will be limited on fish. Also saltwater tanks are significantly more expensive than freshwater tanks so that will be an issue for you.
Yes you’ll need a lid to reduce evaporation and daily fresh water top offs to keep salt from fluctuating.
First you’ll need salt
Then you’ll need an RODI unit or a place to get RODI water. Tap water is no good for reef tanks.
Argonite based sand
Live rock
Test kits for water quality for salt water like salifert
Minerals calcium, alk, magnesium
Test kits for minerals and phosphate
A good Heater
A good quality filter like tidal 50