First Fish Dead...

Discussion in 'Saltwater Beginners' started by Ivanovikch, Mar 21, 2019.

1. IvanovikchNew MemberMember

Hello. I'm totally new in saltwater tanks.
    Seven weeks ago I started a nano tank. Live sand, live rock power filters etc. After four weeks and because I had used live sand and live rock and water parameters were fine... ammonia 0 nitrite 0 nitrate 5ppm I thought the tank was cycled. Well it wasn't...I tried some small crabs and died...I tried twice adding little crabs same result. Then I waited two more weeks doing partial water changes each week then I found ammonia peak and nitrite peak...no fish this time. I added liquid bacteria as a booster and last week I did water change but before I checked parameters. Ammonia and nitrite were 0 . So then I thought ok..now it is cycled so I got a clown fish two days ago.

I acclimated it for an hour.. dripping method ...it didn't eat the first day and today I found it kind of dying...it looks like it has cramps...heavy breathing.

What I did...I added seachem prime inmediatly...

What is going on with my tank?

Help.please.

2. Oliver1209Valued MemberMember

Low oxygen. PH swings.

3. JesterraceWell Known MemberMember

What test kit are you using? Also are you using RODI water?

4. IvanovikchNew MemberMember

Ph is 8.4. Since it is the only inhabitant and there are two power filter with well water circulation I don't know bout that.

Thanks for your comment.

i'm using API test kit. The only brand available in my country. and yes only RODI water.

It is still alive...I turned lights off and it got better but this morning , it is again dying.

5. IvanovikchNew MemberMember

Update the fish Is now dead

6. JesterraceWell Known MemberMember