First fish added to new tank dead within 24 hours!!

Luke Ian Merritt
Thank you in advance! We have just purchased a 64l tank the other day and we left the tank to establish for 4 days (tropical tank). We've been back and forth between pets at home with water samples and were given the all clear to start to introduce some 'hardy' fish so we were told that red nose rummies would be a good choice, we introduced them slowly as instructed and when they were eventually in they were opening and closing their mouths a lot. They eventually started to explore late last night however this morning only one was swimming around, one just still in the corner and the other swimming upside down. When I got home from work two were dead and one was swimming on its back. I'm completely new to fish so pardon any wrong terms and stupidity, as far as I know the water was fine, the heater is running effectively (going to buy another thermometer later in case) their is also an oxygen stone in the tank. Please help as were keen to eventually see a thriving community tank and were upset that we lost our first fish and we hate to think it could be our fault as were animal lovers.

TyGuy320
Welcome to Fish Lore!
I am deeply sorry for your losses. I would say that the tank was not cycled. Your profile says that you are unaware of the nitrogen cycle, so I suggest reading this link: https://www.fishlore.com/NitrogenCycle.htm