First Canister....thoughts and advice please!

Discussion in 'Filters and Filtration' started by Meeps83, Apr 22, 2012.

1. Meeps83

Meeps83Well Known MemberMember

Long story short, my husband let me upgrade my tank to a 60 gallon so he could have my 45. I wanted a 75, but I ended up finding an awesome sale at Petsmart for a 60 gallon tank/stand combo for cheaper than just a 75 gallon tank and cheaper than everything on CL.

For this tank, I'd like to do a canister. I've never done one before so this is going to be all new for me. I'd like to do 2 canisters to even out the flow and filtration throughout the tank. I'll also have two separate heaters in it.

For the canisters, these are the options that I've narrowed down (in no certain order)

2 Aquatop CF-300's (rated at 264 gph each)

2 Rena Filstar XP1's (rated at 250 gph each)

2 Eheim Classic 2217's (rated at 264 gph each)

2 Marineland C-220's (rated at 220 gph each)

1 Fluval 206 (206 gph) and 1 Fluval 306 (303 gph)

Any opinions or experiences with these would be much appreciated. Also, is the 2 filter plan good or should I just do 1? Thanks in advance!

2. slade

sladeValued MemberMember

I have an Eheim 2217 canister and an Aquaclear 110 HOB on my 55 gallon cichlid tank. I think the 2217 is great, but for the price, I'd go with the Aquatop CF-300's - you can get both for the price of one 2217. I've also heard good things about the Fluval, but have no experience with them.

3. Jaysee

JayseeFishlore LegendMember

2 filters is an excellent plan.

I'm a big fan of the aquatops - 2 of the 300's would be my choice. They hold a TON of media and won't break the bank.

The XP1s are not nearly big enough, even with 2 of them. The XP2 isn't very impressive either - for the GPH, they don't hold as much media as they ought to. The XP3 and 4 are impressive filters, though.

The marinelands are ridiculously priced, and the two 220's would be on the weaker side.

4. OP
    OP
    Meeps83