fins and tail look weird after healing (clamped fins and tails)

fishlover

Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm new to the Betta fish world and will greatly appreciate all the help I can get from all the experts. many thanks in advance.

My Betta got into a fight with one of the fish I had and it's fins and tail got all ripped up.

When they started to heal they look like all the fins and tail are glued together and not as soft as before.

Had anyone experienced something like this before? is it normal? will the fins and tail become puffy and soft again?

genie

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Re: fins and tail look weird after healing

Can you post pics. This doesn't sound normal-- dont panic yet-- I just can't say without seeing what you are talking about.

fishlover

Reaction score

Here are the pictures...I've tried to take pictures but the betta doesn't want to stay still.
One is Before picture and one is After picture.
You can clearly see the difference between the shap of fins and tail.
The fins and tail wouldn't expand even I place a mirror in front of the fish.

genie

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years

wow-- is that the same fish ??? Looks like clamped fins - maybe - if that is how he always swims now, with his fins held close to his body and not opened up. This is a sign of disease. What are your water parameters-- ammonia, nitrite & nitrate? I reccommend doing a partial water change 25%-50% after you test the water. Then you may want to look into medicating the fish.

Maybe someone else out there who has dealt with clamped fins can help you decide.

good luck!

fishlover

Reaction score

Thanks Genie.
Those are two different fishes but I just wanted to show what it's fins and tail looked like before.

the water condition is fine, I just checked.

Everything was fine until I took the Dwarf Gouramis out; its fins/tail started to heal but it turned out to be clamped.
This is really frustrating...