Fin & Tail Rot?

Sparkling Diamonds

Valued Member
Reaction score
Poor little Patrick's gone through so much lately...

Dealing with a new tank, new tank buddies... he's quite the little trooper!

However, yesterday, i noticed his dorsal fin was a bit out of whack, and i just sat in front of the tank inspecting it... and had no idea.. it looked almost whithered...and the tip looked like it was about to fall off! 

Before i bought him, i had read a ton of posts in here, and i had done some research..
But I'm still no expert!
I bought a ton of stuffs... a variety of foods, Maracyn Two, just to be safe.

I awoke this morning to find Patrick's poor little tail ripped in the middle! Personally, I got this gut feeling that he had fin and tail rot.
So, i dashed to get his meds, and begun him on those as soon as i saw his poor little tail.
I've been at work for the last 7 hours, and came home to find it's gotten worse.  :'(
Looks like his tail's just deteriorating away and a chunk of it is about to fall off.
My heart's going out to the poor little guy.
He's swimming around all skiddish and he's always up against the walls of the tank.
But he never has his fins fully sprawled out, they're kind of clumped together the majority of the time, unless he's laying in the current, and that happens to brush them all open.

What causes Fin and Tail rot?
Is it stress??

Directions say no water changes necessary is readings are in ideal range...
This i find interesting.
I bought testing strips for the ammonia, nitrates, and nitrites... and they have been testing at zero.
However, this tank hasn't gone through the nitrogen cycle completely yet.
I bought the tank on Sunday and a plant and had that started up, and just had the filter running.
And i got Patrick on Wednesday. [Since i read somewhere that the cycle doesn't start until the fish is in the tank, since there's no source of ammonia until it's arrival]
How is it possible that they always test so low?