Fin Rot???!

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Disease' started by recoliizado, Feb 12, 2018.

1. recoliizado

recoliizadoNew MemberMember

15013A6B-E0ED-4D53-AFD1-1702BBB79A7A.jpeg6DD16C6B-E18C-4BEC-B4FC-30A3E24BEE02.jpeg Hello! I’m new to this fish keeping hobby, so I’m not sure if I’m doing the right thing, or more that I don’t know what I need to do next for my fish... I noticed his/ her fins are deteriorating? I last did a water change on February 8 and the results were:
    1. pH 7.2-7.4
    2. Ammonia 0 ppm
    3. Nitrate 20 ppm
    4. Nitrite 0 ppm
    He/ she is in a 10 gallon tank. As you can see in the pictures above, what I mean by the fins deteriorating... Am I doing something wrong? And is there anything I can do to help my fish? :/

2. California L33

California L33Well Known MemberMember

Yeah, that looks like a bit of fin rot. At this point I don't think he needs any medication, just lots of clean water with daily partial water changes. If it gets worse- either eats its way close to his body or develops fuzzy white patches, then you may need to treat with an antibiotic, but it probably won't come to that.

However, you've got a bigger problem- a goldfish in a 10 gallon tank. The consensus is the smallest tank for a single fancy goldfish is 29 gallons, but since goldfish like to be with other goldfish, and you should have three, and each additional fish needs 20 gallons, pretty much the smallest goldfish tank should be 75 gallons.

If you can't swing a 75 right now (and there are a lot of us who can't ), then maybe consider rehoming him and getting fish more appropriate for the 10. A 10 would be a palace for a Betta, and there are other fish you can consider as well.

Oh, and welcome to Fish Lore!

3. OP
    OP
    recoliizado

Sorry! Still new to this... not entirely sure how to reply directly to a comment.