Fin rot with perfect water parameters

brendadrummond

Reaction score
Experience
2 years
I have 4 betta fish (2 mine, 2 my kids') and I've been betta-keeping for about 2 years now, so I have a very good understanding about it all (I read a ton online), and I know all about the nitrogen cycle. My question is this... There have been numerous times that a fish will randomly get fin rot, even though my water is changed every 5 days or so & parameters are perfect. And this past week, I changed all of their waters the day before we left because we were going away for 4 days, and I fed everyone the morning we left, and when I returned, 3 of them had fin rot! I tested all of their water and everyone is at Am-0, Ni-0, Na-0, pH-7 (I use the API Master test kit). This makes no sense to me. Does anyone have any advice? Do they get stressed out when they don't see you or get fed for 3 straight days?? I just can't figure any other reason. We haven't travelled in months, and they've all been in perfect shape until I went away. I'm so frustrated. I'd appreciate any insights or advice.

Edit:
Sorry, I should have had all this info included:

Tank

What is the water volume of the tank? 2 are 5 gallon, 1 is 3 gallon
How long has the tank been running? About a year for all 3
Does it have a filter? yes
Does it have a heater? yes
What is the water temperature? 78
What is the entire stocking of this tank? (Please list all fish and inverts.) 5 gallons both have a betta and a nerite snail. 3 gallon has just a betta

Maintenance
How often do you change the water? Once a week
How much of the water do you change? 50%
What do you use to treat your water? I use RO water with Seachem Replenish
Do you vacuum the substrate or just the water? Lightly on the substrate; different sections each cleaning

*Parameters - Very Important
Did you cycle your tank before adding fish? No
What do you use to test the water? API Master kit