Fin rot vs fin tear? Help!

afleming94

Reactions
Experience
1 year
I am rather new to Bettas (as in, this time around doing more research and trying to do things right!) and I’ve had this guy for almost 2 weeks now. He’s been doing well in the new tank (along with a nerite snail and some planted bulbs that are in the process of growing) and is active and eating. I did a partial water change two days ago, and everything appeared just fine. I was gone for just a few hours, came home tonight and his tail looks like there are a bunch of rips, that I am almost certain was not there 24 hours ago. I did have a tall plastic plant in place just until the live plants really started to fill the tank, but now I’m afraid maybe he tore his tail swimming by when I wasn’t home? I’m only questioning it because I was afraid he had some fin rot when I purchased him and now it looks somewhat like his edges are a little more spiked... but this would mean he got worse since adding him to my filtered and heated tank... He seems to have a little trouble swimming and was darting and stressed but I think that has subsided a bit now. I’ve taken out the fake plant, done a water change, and am keeping his room dark and quiet. Do any more experienced eyes have any suggestions on what happened or what would be the best steps to take from here?? I tried to get some photos but they aren’t great, I’ll see if I can take some more. I will also include what he looked like yesterday to compare... Please help this newbie!
8D11E91C-DB88-4555-983A-F053A83AE2E0.jpeg
937F2BFA-3179-45E0-B2F5-646FFDC22A6A.jpeg
5C4D8686-EAAF-47E1-9DDB-A391F3777314.jpeg
5C4D8686-EAAF-47E1-9DDB-A391F3777314.jpeg

Attachments

Salem

Well Known
Reactions
Experience
1 year