Filtration Dilemma

Emanuel Alves

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hello,
This is my first thread on FishLore, however, I've been doing so much research that I think this website is my second home! layful:

So, to briefly sum it up: I've been running a fish tank since December 2017. I started with a 2.5g (12 litres) fish tank (1st mistake...) and two weeks ago I purchased a bigger one - 7.3g (28 litres). I have a Marina i25 filter, a heater and a combination of plant-substrate + small pebbles on top - I moved everything altogether to the new tank (no cleaning, in order to keep as much BB as possible). I added water wisteria all around the tank and two moss balls (cladophora aegagropila).
For inmates I have 6 neon tetras, 1 male betta fish, 6 cherry shrimps, 1 otto and 1 snail. I have arranged the tank in order to be able to keep this current fish-stock - the fish have enough space and everyone is happy.

Now here comes the tricky part. The filter that I currently have (marina i25) doesn't allow much modding - it's a cartridge-based filter and the cartridges can't be modified - all I could do was add some small bio filtration media (Sera Siporax Mini) behind the cartridge, stuck against the back of the filter and a thin filter floss layer on the front of the cartridge, right behind the top cut-out where the water comes off. Every time the cartridge begins to clog up (every 2 months give or take), I have to replace it and lose a big portion of my BB... and I'm afraid that, in the future, with this new tank, it might have an impact on the water. Also, I feel this filter doesn't move the water *at all* - it is rated for up to 25 litres and, right now, it's filtering more than that.