Filter Theory/Question?

Discussion in 'Filters and Filtration' started by kuopan, Dec 30, 2009.

1. k

kuopan Valued Member Member

hi everyone,

this is a total newb question that I just want to confirm. But if I have 20gallon tank and use a filter manufactured for 30, 40 or anything greater than my tank, would it drastically improve my waterflow and reduce debris? In essence, is there a positive correlation b/w the performance of the filter? and is it worth buying a filter manufactured for a larger tank when i only have a 20gallon tank?

I currently have a "marina" slim filter and it doesn't appear to collect as much debris (ex - poop) as I'd like. there's a foam around the filter that appears to prevent it? it'll be greatly appreciated if you can recommend filters for me.

i'm currently eyeing the fluval 205 or 305 external canister filter (which is quite pricey so i am contemplating whether it's even worth it for a 20gallon tank cuz they are manufactured for 50g and 70g i think). I also have my eyes at the AquaClear70 which they are selling for 20bucks at bigals (seems like a great deal) but dunno if it's a good filter.

thank you.

2. Meenu

Meenu Fishlore VIP Member

You want to look at the flow rate rather than the rating by the manufacturer. For a HOB, you're looking for 10x you gallons (so 10x 20) = 200 gph. For a canister you are looking for 5x, or 100 gallons per hour flow rate for a 20 g tank.

The Aqua Clears have a wonderful reputation. You could go with an AC50. I have a Fluval that I am extremely happy with. A Fluval 205 would be perfect for your tank.

By the way, I see you don't know about the nitrogen cycle. You should take a moment and read the link in my signature. Also, it would be helpful if your aquarium info was more complete, with a list of which fish you have in the tank. :)

3. f

fishnob Valued Member Member