Filter Question

Spencer318

Valued Member
Reaction score
Hi there, so i just got a penn plax cascade 1000 given to me, and was wondering how i should stock it. Its a 3 cannister filter. i was figureing

Bottom: Fluval Bio tubes + polyester sheets/stuffing

Middle: Charcoal bag + polyester sheets/stuffing

Top: Black media sponge + Polyester sheets/stuffing

Sorry i know my terminology is off as I'm pretty new to the hobby. Does this look like a decent setup?

Little fry babies

Valued Member
Reaction score
How big is your aquarium and how much power does the filter give off? It depends on how much filteration is appropriate for the appropriate amount your tank is. I cant remember the abbreviation they use for the strength of the filter for some reason, but when i bought my topfin quiet flow it is for a 20 to 40 gallon. Always get filters that are for your size tank or a little more stornger and get one that you can adjust the flow in the tank .That's always best .

I guess the abbreviation and term for this would be GPH gallons per hour .Though that doesnt sound familiar to me .Lol. if that is what your question was for any way .hope it helped some.

Jenoli42

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
Spencer318 said:
Hi there, so i just got a penn plax cascade 1000 given to me, and was wondering how i should stock it. Its a 3 cannister filter. i was figureing

Bottom: Fluval Bio tubes + polyester sheets/stuffing

Middle: Charcoal bag + polyester sheets/stuffing

Top: Black media sponge + Polyester sheets/stuffing

Sorry i know my terminology is off as I'm pretty new to the hobby. Does this look like a decent setup?

are you asking what media you want to put into the filter itself or whether or not your filtration (gph or litres per hour - lph) is sufficient for your tank size?