Filter Pad Instead Of Sock

mossman

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
I'm new to the saltwater realm (no saltwater tank yet, doing research) and am curious as to why filter socks are a popular choice for sumps as opposed to a simple filter pad. From what I've read, filter socks need to be cleaned at least once a week, and can be a pain to clean. Why not use a tray with a filter pad and just replace the pad every week? I've also seen people using cups stuffed with polyfill, but same question...why the need for a cylindrical part stuffed with filter media when a simple tray with large pad can do the same thing?

Crazycoryfishlady

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I believe it has to do with the idea that we think carbon pads dont hold a lot of bacteria in them, but not only that, we dont always want to be using carbon.
And on the other hand still, those carbon pads can be quite expensive, especially if you're tossing them out every week, instead of just rinsing out a sock filled with ceramic rings or bioballs.
Another reason I believe, for the most part if you remove your filter pad, almost all the bacteria goes with it, (things I've learned by failing my cycles when tossing a pad and not having enough stable bacteria in the tank)
but if you just rinse out a sock with some sort of ball inside of it, there is still some bacteria trapped on the sock as well as trapped in the many layers of media like the bioballs.
I just dunk my bioball sock about 3 times in dirty water, and rub off the edges that have a lot of gunk, and then I just put it back in, never ever having to buy another filter pad or media again.
There's still gunk inside my sock, but at least I can remove caught gunk without my filter pad gaining a hole from too much flow, or it just falling apart in the water unlike ceramic or bioballs would.
10 dollars for life sounds good to me!

mossman

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years