Filter Media Question

mollyk

Reaction score
Hi, there. I'm a newbie to posting here, but I've been reading threads since setting up our 5 gallon Betta tank a month ago. Water testing shows we are in good shape with our nitrogen cycle, but we do have the dreaded brown algae problem. I don't mind just keeping up with vacuuming, wiping down, and water changes, as prior posts on this site suggest it will die out eventually, but I am not sure what I do about our filter media. We have the Petsmart brand Top Fin five gallon aquarium (the Fluval look-a-like), and the filter material is looking gross and brown. I have tried swishing it around in removed tank water, but it doesn't really change the appearance. Is this normal or is it related to our brown algae? (I am totally new to this, so I have no idea if that is normal!) I see that the interior of the pump's water output spout is also lined with brown.

Along with this, I have a related question -- should I be using some other media instead of the kit media? I know not to just change things out since it will mess up the cycle, but the instructions with the kit say to replace the cartridge every 3 to 4 weeks. I don't even know what is in the cartridge - carbon - ? Do I need to phase in a new media item?

Thanks in advance for your input! Molly

Zachhubb

Reaction score
Are the cartridges for a HOB? If so I would just replace it with a sponge that fits the container. Also the brown on the filter components could be a build up of bacteria. That's what happened to me when I first set up my 30 gallon. As for the brown alge, if it is diatoms big water changes with scrubbing could make it worse because they require silicates to survive. Silicates can be found in some tap water, so when you do a big water change yoy just feed the alge. And when you scrub them you just spred the alge around the tank.