Filter Flow Rate

bonsaibill

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
This follows on from a previous question I had. Do we really need to change the activated carbon in our filters so often? The reason for asking this was that I work in the water supply industry (as an electrical maintenance technician). I live in an area of intense agriculture so the water can contain quite high levels of pesticide and nitate from fertiliser. To assist in removing this all of our water treatment works employ Granular Activated Carbon in the final stages of filtration but it remains in service without being changed for years.
So back to my reason for this question. Speaking to a works controller the other day we were discussing the different types of filtration and respective flow rates. Some are slow sand filters which have a large surface area and layers of sand and carbon. As the name suggests these have a relatively low flow rate. The other type is known as rapid gravity and these have seperate sand filters and GAC filters. These have a much smaller surface area and a higher flow rate. The filtration beds on these are much deeper, however. This is beacause of the higher flow they need greater depth to allow the filter material the contact time to do it's job. It also transpires that the slow sands have bacteria that builds up to assist the carbon, this is something that does not happen in the Rapid Gravity Filters.
So, in view of this, my question is - 'can the water flow through a tank filter be too great for it to work efficiently, especially for the beneficial bacteria?'
To achive a certain litres (or gallons) per hour you could either have a filter with large surface area (or in other words large volume) with a slow flow through or a small filter with a much higher flow rate. My thoughts are that large volume filter and low flow rate are better than small volume and high flow, discuss!

AquaticJ

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 years