Filter Flow Problem

1. Matt Ireland Initiate Member

I am a beginner and I nave recently purchased a ten gallon tank. I set it up and let it run for about 48 hrs. I went to my nearest fish store (not PetCo to PetSmart) and they helped me. I now have purchased three danios, two black skirt tetras, and one neon orange crawfish. I only brought home the danios. The helpers there said I had to "cycle" the tank. (I don't really know what that means) Now I have three danios in my tank. They are getting pushed around by my filter. It is an Aqueoun QuietFlow 10. Any suggestions on how to slow down my filter flow rate?

P.S. Do you think this is appropriate for a starter?

3 danios

two black skirt tetras

one neon orange dwarf crawfish

2. Aquarium Newb Member Member

First off, to cycle the tank is pretty much getting bacteria like ammonia nitrates and nitrites in your tank so you can get bacteria that eats those things in your filter media. Don't be surprised if some danio die, most people do fishless with pure ammonia and tetra safe start. However with the stocking I'm afraid I cant help. I don't know any of these fish very well, however for a general basis you can use aq advisor. Just dont trust it intensely, it gives a good approximation though.

Oh yeah, and I don't think they should be being pushed by the filter, how high is your tank water? And do you have a water test kit (tests ph ammonia nitrates nitrites gh and kh)? Api master test kit is the best imo you could try putting something in front of where the water comes out, I don't know about that filter much, ill do some research though in the meantime hopefully someone else can help.

3. No Fishing Member Member

Welcome to fishlore!
    I would definitely get familiar with the nitrogen cycle. There is a page on this forum that explains the process. Also I would recommend getting an API freshwater testing kit.