Filter Current Going To Kill My New Betta

1. Savwingrove

Savwingrove Valued Member Member

I am new to fish keeping and bought a Betta fish about 10 days ago. I asked a Petco staff member to help me get the things I needed... he recommended a 2.5 g tank that had a built in filter. So went home set it up put water in it without the fish! Went back next day to check the parametersat store and they said the tank was ready for the Betta fish! Put him in the tank and saw that the filters current was wayyyyy to strong so I took it out... these last 9 dats I’ve been doing water changes and every time cleaning out the ornaments as I felt slime on them. Now I research and see that the only way to start the nitrogen cycle is to have a filter do I put it back in the tank... I am stressing out because i know my Betta hates the filter but I need that cycle to start or he is going to die which i really don’t want.

Attached Files:

2. CosmicDodo42

CosmicDodo42 Valued Member Member

I would recommend getting a different filter, you could put the betta in a small container, for a short time, put everything back in the kit, and return it to get one with a betta filter(see what I did there?) there are plenty of tanks with adjustable filters that are pretty good. I would recommend the betta falls kit- it looks pretty good, and then you can keep three! While the tank is cycling, get some seachem prime to put in it to keep your ammonia from harming your betta

3. Bry

Bry Valued Member Member