Fiddler Crabs!

1. RoboDude Member Member

I'm planning to buy a couple of Fiddler Crabs, and put them in a . . . say approximately 3 gallon aquarium. I'm very excited, but I'm new to maintendence of crabs. Any tips or help is appreciated! ;D

2. RoboDude Member Member

. . . I meant 2 say maintenence! . . . :-[

3. RoboDude Member Member

anyone? im getting them soon . . .

4. Osiris Initiate Member

I don't know anyone who has owned fiddler crabs, but they sure would be cool to watch. Make sure you post some pictures.

5. Gunnie Well Known Member Member

6. RoboDude Member Member

That's really helpful. Thanks, Gunnie!!

7. RoboDude Member Member

Gettin' them tomorrow!!!!!!!!!!! Can't wait!!!!!!!!!! I'll post pictures if possible!!!!!!!! :-X

8. EmpPleco Well Known Member Member

Good Luck !!

Sorry I haven't seen this earlier, but my father used to have 2 fiddler crabs, and his fish started dying after a few months. He was in the dark about why -- so one day early in the morning he was just watching his tank and one of them came out of the gravel out of nowhere and attacked one of his zebra danios! so mystery explained, lol.

Anywho - just keep a close eye on them :)

9. RoboDude Member Member

lol! that's weird, emppleco! although fiddler crabs don't live with fish anyways. they need dry land, so that may have been the reason for them to be acting so weird! anyways, im leaving to get them right now, so i'll tell you how it works! bye!

10. EmpPleco Well Known Member Member

That may be why, lol --

back when my dad had fish, things were alot different and true information was hard to come by or nonexistent, lol ;D

11. RoboDude Member Member

Yeah, I would imagine so! I've got them now, and they seem to be doing fine! I saw one climb a little piece of driftwood, and then the other one follow it up there . . . hehehe it was funny! The larger one (Dad) pushed Mom off! KerPLUNK!!!

12. EmpPleco Well Known Member Member

aww lol - glad you are enjoying them :)