Fertilizer Without Nitrogen?

1. Celestialgirl Well Known Member Member

Are there fertilizers that don't have nitrogen? I have enough nitrogen due to my fish (and most of my plants are small) and I'm finding I'm doing extra water changes due to the fertilizer. I guess I can just give a few drops instead of a proper dose but I have low light so I'd like to ensure they at least get some good nutrition.

I'm new to plants so I could be on the wrong track. :). I have:
    - 1 Java fern
    - 2 anubais
    - some crypts (small)
    - small helanthium quadricostatus
    - small rotala rotundifolia

2. Aquaphobia Fishlore Legend Member

I liked to use a partial dose of micronutrient fertilizer, no extra nitrogen in that!

3. TexasDomer Fishlore Legend Member

What kind of fertilizers are you using now?

What are your nitrates going up to before a water change?

4. Celestialgirl Well Known Member Member

@Aquaphobia thanks, that's a good idea. Do you have a brand you like/recommend?

@TexasDomer I'm currently using Seacham Flourish. An example would be yesterday. I tested my water and nitrates were 20 ppm (after a 70% water change - I just finished cycling). I then added Flourish. About 9 hours later my fish were acting funny.... so I tested my water again and the results were 0/0/40/. I have a 10 gallon where I had the same thing happen. I feel like any time I add Flourish I'm doing a water change within a day... but maybe I'm not giving my plants enough time to absorb the nutrients and am testing too soon. I'm done cycling now but I was testing daily.

5. BeanFish Well Known Member Member

Flourish comprehensive has no nitrogen at all. It says it has, but it is a ridicule ammount. I cant see how it would add 20 mg of nitrogen per liter to your water.

6. Celestialgirl Well Known Member Member