Female Guppy Surprise

KK35

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I've been reading this forum for sometime, learning how to take care of my pet fish, and the forum been educational and very helpful. I need some help, again.

I will give you some background information, as i think it will be relevant. I started back on August 1, 2015, I bought a Betta fish (Male - but didn't know at the time) and put him in a 1g fish bowl. 3 weeks later I bought a female Betta (Orange - see her in pic). I was a noob, and still is a noob, so I left the new Betta in the plastic cup it came in, and placed it in-front of the bowl for 3 days. The Male fish went nuts, filled top of his bowl with bubbles, which is about the time i figured it was a male, and he started flashing his beautiful fins to get her attention, all the time.

After 3 days, I put the female in the bowl, and the chase began, followed by abuse. In such a tiny bowl, which is not good for one tiny fish, let alone 2 Betta's, there was no place for her to hide from him. 2 days later, I got her a 1g bowl and separated them. I kept both fish bowls next to one another, even though I read that would stress the female out, or both. The female fish was clearly happy, because she recovered from the beating and her fins healed and she was fine within 1 week. She also seemed to enjoy the fact he could not get to her, and he tried so very hard to swim through the bowl repeatedly.

By first week of Sep, I had bought the water care, conditioner, stress coat, and stress zyme. I also bought 2 separate 3.5g tanks that came with filters, the gravel and decorations. I kept them next to one another as well. Looked fancy at the time, but turned out to be a really bad tanks for multiple reason, but that's another story.