Female Betta 10 gallon community tank?

RiverFox
HI experienced and wise fish people! I hope you can answer my question as I don't know much about fish. I have a female betta in a 10 gallon tank that is filled halfway way with a few golden pothos plant and one bamboo stalk. I have had her for about a year and it wasn't until about a month ago that I started to do some serious research about her tank requirements. I found that she needs a heater and a filter. She was always very active, especially during feeding time when she darts around the tank. I am going to order a heater and filter, and some better quality food. I also started to do research on community tanks where I found answers from having 4 mollys with a betta to having 7 guppies with my betta. At this point I don't know what to believe. Could you guys tell me what I could put with her in my 10 gallon tank?

Advertisement
kansas
aqadvisor is good for figuring out what you can put in your tank.

I'm new at keeping fish, but from what I've read it looks like your tank wouldn't hold even one molly.

Demeter
A 10gal is nearly considered a nano tank so community tank mates are very limited. I'd not do any mollies in such a small tank nor guppies. Livebearers are fairly messy for their size and they poo a ton. Plus I have had a female betta go after male guppies and tear their entire tail off.

Seeing as you are just now getting a filter and heater for the betta, you may want to read up on the Nitrogen cycle and make sure the tank is indeed cycled before adding any more fish.

You are better off trying nano species like rasboras, snails, and/or shrimp. Keep in mind any betta can behave aggressively so don't be terribly surprised if the betta suddenly becomes murderous when introduced to new fish.