Feeding Mosquito Larvae!

wolfdog01

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
This is my first time ever feeding live food to a fish. I have a bucket outside that I put plant trimmings in and hoped I would get some babies. Well I did! I was so excited, took four times before I got the video lol might do this every Sunday!

Ms rose

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
yukondog said:
I put them in the fridge and feed for a couple of days, freeze the extra.
great idea, obvi they dont mature if in fridge? lol this is a wonderful idea

yukondog

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
They become dormant in the fridge but as soon as you add warm water they come back to life, once frozen they die but are still good to feed.

wolfdog01

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
I've heard of a lot of people who just get them from a bucket outside and feed it to them. Parasites are my biggest fear with this but if it works for so many people then I might as well try it

Drained the bucket using a siphon and a net. Kept most of the wigglers and I made a cleaner and better farming container. While I was scavenging the yard of tarps with water I found some bloodworms! So I captured them too. Added some dirt and gravel in the container for them. Hopefully it'll all settle by tonight. Kinda wanna get a lid for the container and bring it inside.
Fed another larvae to MK once I was done. Maybe this should be a once a day thing? Not too sure how often I can feed these things to bettas
IMAG5369.jpg

yukondog

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
I pore them into a shallow container and put them in the fridge overnight, it stops all movement and makes them a lot easier to collect and stop them from morphing into mosquitos.

wolfdog01

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 years