Feeding Cichlids Minnows For The First Time

Discussion in 'Cichlids' started by stiglitz, Apr 20, 2012.

1. stiglitz

stiglitzWell Known MemberMember

Tomorrow I'm going to get minnows to feed:
    2 jack dempseys
    1 midas/blood parrot mix
    1 convict cichlid

i was just wondering, how many minnows should i get? is 5 too much? i don't want to overfeed (this is my first time feeding them live fish)

and also, should i feed them their normal fish food the next day? and if not, how long should i wait to feed them again?

2. RogueAgent94

RogueAgent94Fishlore VIPMember

Feeding minnows from a pet shop or any retail store is a very bad idea IMO! They can carry all sorts of diseases which will transfer to the fish that eats them. If you want to feed live food I strongly suggest you grow your own feeders. Guppies are the easiest feeders to grow from my experience.

I'd put 3-5 feeders in a tank max. Your Jack Dempsys and MidasXBP will be the only ones that will eat them. The convict might kill them but mine never ate feeders. Bloodworms are most likely a much better source of protein with less hassle.

3. OP
    OP
    stiglitz

I should of listened to Rogue -_- i got 5 feeders and only one of the JDs is eating them. only 2 have gone and the rest of the fish are ignoring them... what should i do?

4. Jaysee

JayseeFishlore LegendMember