Feeding Bloodworms? Question

Discussion in 'More Freshwater Aquarium Topics' started by Nevaeh Bowers, Apr 18, 2018.

1. N

Nevaeh Bowers New Member Member

I recently bought some bloodworms for my beta. He loves them. As Im new to fish and definitely new to bloodworms I have some questions. The bloodworms that Im feeding him are alive, sorry for the confusion.
    Most of the articles Ive read online say to give 3-5 worms per feeding, can anyone confirm this?
    Can I give these to my beta as a meal replacement for pellets/flakes?
    I read that eventually the worms will turn into flys, some websites even said as soon as a week after purchasing. The people at the pet store told me that in the fridge they should be good for about a month? Did I get lied to?
    What happens if I accidentally drop a worm and it falls to the bottom of the tank?
    Some websites are saying bloodworms bites can be super painful and potentially harmful? Should I be worried about handling them with my bare hands or about my fish being biten?

This question isnt about bloodworms but does have me stumped. I have three thermometers in my tank right now. My fishtank heater has a built in thermometer and its reading at 75 degrees. The other two are reading at 77 degrees and 80 degrees. My tank is 5.5 gallons and I have a filter. Why am I getting such varied readings? Thanks everyone :)

Last edited: Apr 19, 2018
  2. D

DutchAquarium Well Known Member Member

I'm guessing your feeding the freeze dried bloodworms. these are super unhealthy and should only be given as a treat occasionally. Your going to want a actual food for you betta. As for turning to flys, the cold weather slows down the metamorphisis, so probably you will get a month.

3. JamieXPXP

JamieXPXP Well Known Member Member