Faulty Filter

Discussion in 'Filters and Filtration' started by Emily H, Apr 23, 2017.

1. Emily HNew MemberMember

So I'm a novice when it comes to fish keeping, I've Neve rhad a fish more less a tank with multiple fish before. I bought my first tank about a month and a half ago, I set up my bubbler, filter, light, decorations etc. I follow all the instructions included in the products and I formation online exactly. I've noticed that my filter doesn't out out much water but, is putting out water. I let it cycle for about 2 weeks and after I got good water readings I then bought 2 telescope goldfish. I incorporate them in the tank perfectly. Yesterday I woke up and one of my fish had died, I was heart broken, I flushed him and sent him to the big tank in the sky and then set out to find out what the issue was. I had done a water change and maintained the tank how you're supposed to. I was so frustrated because I had believed everything was fine. I tested my water and my ammonia was high, I panicked and started reading and then I realized it must be my filter, I pulled the thing out and was pulling it apart and cleaning everything but my media to preserve my bacteria. I realized the tub sucking the water into my filter had 2 parts, and one was on backwards, NO WHERE in the instructions of filter did it say anything about it, I pulled them out a few minutes ago and read them over and there is nothing. I flipped the tube plugged it in, and it works fine, I was furious, this company has killed my fish. I blame myself partially but, it's not exclusively my ignorance to blame, I'm calling the customer service line tomorrow to let them know what happened in case other filters have been sold with the same issue, if you have a Tetra Whisper PF for a 5-10g please make sure you do not have the same issue.

2. AWheelerWell Known MemberMember

Hi, welcome to fishlore!

How big is your tank and what is the ammonia reading right now?

3. Emily HNew MemberMember