Fancy goldfish newbie, fish in cycle. Help please!

Themouse

Reaction score
Hi everyone :] I've recently become the proud owner of two fancy goldfish: a black moor and an oranda, about 2.5 inches? (not totally sure but they're smaller) They also live with 4 rosy minnows.

Tank is 40G breeder.
Using prime
Also aquarium salt (added 5 tablespoons initially when I set up tank)
sand substrate
Have an air pump
Using tetra IQ 40 internal filter (I know....but I thought it would be ok for now since they're so small?) Also using some extra carbon media and sponge inside it.

The tank has been cycling for about 2 weeks. Basically I'm new to the hobby and I want to make sure I'm doing things right. I've been doing 25% water changes every other day/every couple days. Is that too much too often ? I'm going by the liquid API tests but I'm still learning how to read them, so I'm a bit paranoid. Last night when I tested, I couldn't tell if my ammonia was .25, .5, or 1 PPM (I know...quite the difference lol) so I did around a 50% change.

It's the next day and here are the testing results:

Ammonia: 0? .25?
Ph: ~7.6
Nitrate: 0
Nitrite: 0
also temp: 72 F

This makes me feel like I *am* doing it too often but like I said...paranoid...

Left to right: ammonia, ph, nitrite, nitrate

158895578444399387400.jpg

ammonia at a different angle. What do you think this reading is?
15889559046892112574563.jpg

Okay, and finally some pics of the babies
20200501_174426(0).jpg20200501_174424(0).jpgScreenshot_20200502-224931.jpg
Screenshot_20200502-225206.jpgScreenshot_20200502-225100.jpg