Eys Popped OUT

1. larrykarene Initiate Member

A while back I had a very old FW angel fish. One day one of his eyes was gone. Nothing but a hole - some time later the other one was gone. That was several months ago. I keep a clean tank. Today I noticed that one of my sharks (not sure of the type) has lost an eye! Not merely bulging but it is GONE. Does anyone have and suggestions? Will it continue with the other fish. The tank is 55gal with 2 discus, 2 Silver Dollars, and a few African ciclids. Help - thanks in advance.

2. Isabella Fishlore VIP Member

I have no idea what it may be. I only know of a "Pop Eye" disease. It is described here on Fish Lore as fish having "one or both eyes appear to be 'popping' or sticking out." "This is usually the result of a bacterial infection. Try to give your fish the best water possible by performing frequent water changes." There is also a recommended treatment but that's not for me to advise since I have no experience with this disease. So here: http://fishlore.com/Disease.htm

Your tank seems large enough for Angels and Silver Dollars (don't know about Discus). And assuming the other Cichlids you have aren't too big, I don't think your tank is overcrowded. Although it would be good if you told us how many fish of each kind you have. And it would be good if you posted your ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, and pH readings. Provided that the tank is not overcrowded and your water is kept clean, water parameters cannot be the reason for the missing eyes.

I only am familiar with the nature of angelfish. Could it be that some of the fish you have are too aggressive for other fish in your tank? Did you notice any aggression in any of your fish? If it's not any disease or water quality, then there's a good possibility some aggressive fish is causing all of this. (Though I personally cannot imagine how a fish would be able to poke out an eye of another fish.)