5 Gallon Tank Extra mystery snail and other q's

Hi, all. I'm new to all this and am unsure about a few things. I ordered 2 mystery snails for my new 5-gallon tank (a golden and a magenta), but received 3. They're great and I love them all, but had planned to add a betta (monitoring closely) and some shrimp after a few weeks. Now I'm concerned about overstocking this little tank. Should I find another home for the extra? If so, any tips on the best way to do that?

Also, they're eating patterns seem odd to me. The littlest one (magenta) just cruises around the top of the tank about an inch below the water line all day. She will occasionally come down to snack on veggies or hang out on driftwood, but then goes back to making laps. She will eat freeze-dried brine shrimp and bloodworms if I can get them to stick to the sides. The two goldens are bigger and seem only to eat veggies. They will move around the tank a bit, but will only go up on the walls at night when the lights are dimmed. Mostly they hide and eat lettuce. None of them will touch the sinking pellets. If they needed/wanted the protein, they'd go get it, I think?

I've had them about a week. I remove uneaten veggies after a day or two. My water is a bit on the soft side and a little low on pH even with a cuttlebone in, so I'll be adding some crushed coral. Other parameters are okay, though ammonia started showing up two days ago and I did 50% water changes that day and yesterday. Will check again tonight and change again if still present. I thought I had cycled, but maybe I goofed it. I have java fern and Marimo moss balls and will be adding some anacharis once it's quarantined (if it survives--it does not look good rn). I built a slate structure when I did the first water change, but they don't seem to like it. I checked all the edges and none seemed too sharp, but I'm not a snail, so maybe they feel differently.

Thank you for reading my novel. I appreciate any advice or tips.

Solution